David Blaine- Losing the Magic Touch? + $8 Glasses

Do you think I need some hand moisturizers?

Do you think I need some hand moisturizers?

Once, in a time, long, long ago– magic was pulling a rabbit out of a hat.  Now it seems, magic is suspending yourself in the air, upside down, to promise a “Dive of Death”– in front of thousands of adoring fans.

This is what “Illusionist” David Blaine promised last night.  Since I don’t seem to sleep very much, stayed up to watch part of the end, where he’s supposed to dive from 4.5 stories in the air.  Only to be disappointed he bungeed himself up and shot back into the air. 

How anticlimactic!

Friends in New York who checked out his stunt said he was taking about 3-breaks every hour and standing back upright.  David said he didn’t want to urinate on himself, which is why he did it.  But honestly, I feel decieved.  He wasn’t upside down for 60 hours…nor did he dive to (his) death.

***

That and a shout out to DDD reader Mark, who sent this tip on DIRT CHEAP PRESCRIPTION GLASSES:

Is this for real?  They look legit...

Is this for real? They look legit...

“You just have to have your prescription from your doctor and your good to go. Complete glasses with shipping, anti-glare and scratch proof coating will only set you back anywhere from $25 to $50…no kidding, with money left over to buy toilet paper. Surprisingly they are great quality, just as good as other glasses I have bought that cost a couple hundred of dollars or more. “

So far, I’ve skimmed the site and it’s exciting. http://zennioptical.com/cart/home.php

 Mark says they stack up to expensive brands– but I’ll order some when I get a chance, and let you all know.  Maybe even do a story on them!

Gotta run-

D3

2 Responses

  1. I know I sound like I own stock in Zenni, but this place will honestly amaze you or maybe I am easily amused? I don’t know how or where these are being made or by whom. It could be some secret government program run by space aliens using space age polymers, I just don’t know.

    I have recommended this site to friends over and over and they always come back and tell me they can’t believe that they get glasses now for so cheap. You will even impressed with their cases…hard plastic, no cloth soft ones.

    Not only do they have regular glasses, but you can also pick any frame you want, then just up the tint on them to sunglass level and wallah…you have prescription sunglasses-magnifico!

    It takes approx. two weeks from the time you order until the time you receive them. First class USPS mail. My last pair set me back a total of $25 with shipping, all coatings and lenses. I order glasses now on a whim whenever I want to change my look. Is this a great country or what!

    The styles are much better than the example picture though. Those are your dad’s glasses, but most of the frames they have are designer style frames.

    Can I say that I love this place! I think I just did.

  2. I am pretty sure that I would rather stay up to watch David Blaine urinate on himself than actually watch him try to hang upside down. Hopefully that will be his next stunt. See how long he can go while hanging upside down without wetting himself.

    I might even buy another pair of $8 glasses so I could see it better.

    Must See TV

Leave a Reply

