I Should Be Sleeping…But I’m Shopping

Making Friendly & Get the Inside Scoop

I have no problem falling asleep in a friend's minivan on the way home from Tahoe 2 years ago. I apparently don't wake up, even if someone takes a picture while I'm sleeping!!!

I have no problem falling asleep in a friend's minivan on the way home from Tahoe 2 years ago. I apparently don't wake up, even if someone takes a picture while I'm sleeping!!!

It’s 8:26pm.

T-minus…oh, 5.5 hours before I need to wake up tomorrow.  (Donna’s off, so I’m on the 5-9am shows tomorrow). Maybe it was the accidental 1 hour nap I took at 2pm, or this current episode of Gray’s that’s keeping me up.

It seems like people rarely sit down and solely watch TV anymore.  For example, I’ve got my laptop on the couch with me.  Somtimes I’m in the kitchen cooking so I quasi-watch-listen.

Laptop=surfing web=discovery of deals=online shopping!

Long story short, I tired to buy two dresses at a departmen store’s website, but for some reason the site was down for maintenence.  These dresses JUST CAME OUT for the spring season about 4 weeks ago.  Already, they’re on sale, and ALL SIZES are available!

This 60 and 70 degree weather is a fluke, but normally, it would be the dead of winter, and I could afford to wait a little longer for the price to drop to 60% off.  Instead, I figured, since my size is pretty hard to find, I’ll call the store and place a phone order.

The woman on the phone was hilarious.

“Giiiiirl, this economy, everything’s on sale, and in such a small size, lucky you!!!”

(If this conversation was recorded for training purposes, this rep would have either gotten in major trouble for chatting with me too long, or she’d get a gold star for being friendly. Yeah, we chatted about things not order related for awhile!)

In the end, I basically got the scoop on more deals at the site to come.

This get friendly, ask questions tactic worked at Beauty Brands for not only me, but for one of my producers, Abbie.  She got some excellent lotion samples.  Inspired, I asked and got some face wash and lotion for free too!

Abbie also bought a crib for her baby (soon to be born, might I add!) and forgot to use a coupon at Babeis R Us.  She brought the receipt and coupon back later that week, and got $30 back!

Okay, it’s REALLY time to set the DVR and go to sleep. I’m starting to ramble. Until next time!

Dion

PS:  I wore my favorite red suit on the desk today, and I should have saved it for Friday, because it’s National Wear Red Day (Go Red) to support women’s heart health.  I hear Macy’s is offering 20% off your purchases if you wear red! http://www.macys.com/campaign/gored/index.jsp

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

