The Dow is Up? DOUGHNUTS!

This really has nothing to do with the blog post, but I like to show everyone behind-the-scenes of Channel 9.  Here, Kris and I are in a commercial break.  What you might not know, is he and I both had Blackberries, and like to keep on top of blogging, texting and emails during the commercial breaks.  (Okay, MAYBE I'm on Facebook. Maybe.)

This really has nothing to do with the blog post, but I like to show everyone behind-the-scenes of Channel 9. Here, Kris and I are in a commercial break. What you might not know, is he and I both had Blackberries, and like to keep on top of blogging, texting and emails during the commercial breaks. (Okay, MAYBE I'm on Facebook. Maybe.) Thanks Robert for taking this photo.

When I was between jobs and out of work, the first thing my brother said to me was “hey, at least you don’t have some kind of flesh-eating disease and you have somewhat decent hair.”


HUH?!


If you know my brother, this is his way of making light of a bad situation. Something I can appreciate every now and then.


With the bad economy, it seems like companies need to think outside the box to stay afloat. One company seems to be making light of the situation and offering a new promotion that caught my eye.


Leawood-based Houlihan’s restaurant has a new promotion called “Dowwie Wowwie” (ha, ha, like the Dow Jones…get it?)


If the Dow Jones Industrials are UP, you get a free order of Italian Doughnuts. (Apparently these confections are doused in chocolate fudgy sauce, if that’s additional motivation for you.)


If the Dow is DOWN, you get a certificate for a free appetizer with a purchase of an entrée.


The Details: This promotion runs through the 27th at the Leawood, Fairway, Olathe, Overland, Lee’s Summit, and North Kansas City locations and is valid Monday-Friday after 4pm.


The New York Times ran a story not too long ago about the chicest restaurants lowering prices to attract customers. While Americans are eating out less, it’s nice to know at least when we do, the restaurant feels our pain, and is trying to offer a little something extra. Better than nothing at all.


Dion

PS:  Thanks to a DDD reader who wrote in to say she had been denied the use of printable coupons by K-Mart.  If anyone else has had problems with printables, let me know. I’d love to hear your story.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

